If you will be
married at Bill Millerís Castle located in North
Branford, please contact the North Branford Town
Clerk (203-484-6015) for the issuance of your marriage
No appointment necessary to
apply for a marriage license but you must arrive by 4:00PM. Fee for a license is $30.00
(subject to change).
Premarital Requirements in Connecticut
A marriage license is required by the Marriage License Laws
of Connecticut. The procedure for obtaining the marriage
license and other related information is stated below.
Both parties must appear in person to apply for
∑ You must apply in
the town where the ceremony will be held.
License is valid for 65 days from date of application.
You may download the
License Worksheet here to bring with you.
Applicants (18) years of age or over do not require parental
consent to marry in Connecticut.
Under 18 Years of Age
Written consent of the parent or guardian is required.
Under 16 Years of Age
The Judge of Probate Court must endorse with written consent
on the license.
Full legal name is required. No abbreviations,
nicknames or initials. The information for the marriage
license should appear as it does on your birth certificate,
unless your name has been legally changed (i.e.
previous marriage, court order name change).
Connecticut Residents Marrying in Another State
Not all states have the same requirements. Contact the state
in which the marriage ceremony will be held.