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I N F O R M A T I O N A L  P A C K E T  

CHCPE Description  

CHCPE INCOME & ASSET GUIDELINES 

CHCPE ASSISTED LIVING SERVICES 

NAT’L FAMILY CAREGIVER SUPPORT PROGRAM 

CT STATEWIDE RESPITE CARE PROGRAM  

MONEY FOLLOWS THE PERSON PROGRAM  

OVERVIEW MEDICAID WAIVER PROGRAMS  

CHCPE APPLICATION 

 

 T H I S  B O O K L E T  I S  F O R  I N F O R M A T I O N A L  P U R P O S E S  O N L Y  A N D  I S  S U B J E C T  T O  C H A N G E  W I T H O U T  N O T I C E  A S  P R O G R A M S  &  C R I T E R I A  C O N T I N U A L L Y  C H A N G E   

 



C O N N E C T I C U T  H O M E  C A R E  P R O G R A M  F O R  E L D E R S  ( C H C P E )  

This program provides services to help el ig ible residents l ive in the community.  El igible 

applicants must be 65 years of age or ol der,  be at r isk of nurs ing home placement and meet 

the program’s f inancial  el igibi l ity criteria.  To be at r isk of nurs ing home placement means 

that the applicant needs ass istance with crit ical  needs such as bathing, dress ing, eating,  

taking medicat ions and toileting. CHCPE helps cl ients continue l iv ing at home instead of 

going to a nurs ing home. Each applicant’s needs are rev iewed to determine if  he/she may 

remain at home with the help of home care services.  

C o m m u n i t y  O p t i o n s  U n i t  

This area explains the CT Home Care Program for Elders (CH CPE),  including who is  e l igible 

for the program, what  services are available,  how to apply for services,  and how to contact 

the program.  

To be el ig ible,  appl icants must be 65 years of age or older,  be a Connecticut res ident,  be at 

r isk of nurs ing home plac ement and meet the program’s f inancial  el ig ibi l ity cr iter ia.  To be 

at r isk of nursing home placement means that the applicant needs assistance with cr it ical  

needs such as bathing, dress ing, eat ing,  taking medications,  toi let ing.  The CHCPE helps 

el ig ible cl ients cont inue l iv ing at home instead of going to a nursing home. Each applicant’s 

needs are reviewed to  determine if  the appl icant may remain at home with the help of 

home care services.  For more information on el igibi l ity criteria,  please see the l ink be low. 

 

S e r v i c e s  m a y  i n c l u d e :  

Care Management Services  

Adult  Day Health Services  

Companion Services  

Home Delivered Meals  

Homemaker Services  

M a k i n g  a  R e f e r r a l  

Referrals can now be accepted online 

at:  https://www.ascendami.com/CTHomeCareForElders/default/ Opens in a new window  

For more information,  or to start  the application proces s,  please call  1 -800-445-5394 (toll -

free) or 860-424-4904 locally in the Hartford area and select option 4.  

 

F e e s / P a y m e n t  

Co-Pay Requirement  

As of July 1,  2015 cl ients who are on the state -funded port ion of the program are required 

to pay a 9% copay per Public Act 15 -5. The care manager assigned to you can explain the 

process in detail .  Fai lure to pay the copay wil l  result  in the termination of  services under 

the CT Home Care Program for Elders.  

https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-And-Home-Care/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders-CHCPE
https://www.ascendami.com/CTHomeCareForElders/default/


INCOME AND ASSET INFORMATION (2022)   

 

  

WHAT IS COUNTED FOR YOUR GROSS MONTHLY INCOME?  Your total income before any 
deductions including any deductions for Medicare premiums.  
Count only your income and no one else’s. (If  married, do not count your spouse’s income.)  
Count all  income you get on a regular basis l ike your wages, pension, Social Security, Veterans 
benefits, and Supplemental  
Security Income. WHAT ARE YOUR COUNTABLE ASSETS?  DO NOT COUNT  your house, furnishings, 
personal belongings (clothes, jewelry) or the motor vehicle that is your ess ential means of 
transportation.  
Also, do not count:  

  Burial Funds  -  Irrevocable up to $10,000 for each person OR Revocable up to $1,800.  
  Burial Plots  -  For s ingle individuals, one plot. For married individuals, one plot for each 

spouse and certain other family members under certain conditions. A plot may include a 
casket, outer container and opening and closing of the grave.  

  Life Insurance Policies  -  If  the total face value of al l  policies does not exceed $1,500.00. 
(Otherwise count total cash surrender valu e of all  policies.) Term Life policies are excluded 
regardless of value.  

COUNT ASSETS OWNED BY YOU OR YOUR SPOUSE.  All  jointly held assets must be counted in full  
as yours unless you can show they are owned by someone else (not your spouse). This includes 
things l ike: real estate not used as your home, non -essential motor vehicles, campers, boats, 
bank/credit union accounts (savings, checking, CD, IRA, Vacation or Christmas Club), stocks, 
revocable trust funds, bonds, U.S. Savings Bonds, total cash surrende r value of l ife insurance with 
a total face value that exceeds $1,500.00.   

MEDICAID WAIVER INCOME LIMIT  -  $2,523.00 per month or less   

STATE FUNDED INCOME LIMIT  -  No Limit  

 

ASSET LIMITS  --  MEDICAID WAIVER*  STATE FUNDED**  

Individual --  $1,600.00 Individual --  $41,220.00 

Couple --  $3,200.00 (both receiving services)  Couple Combined Assets --  $54,960.00 

Couple --  $1,600.00* (one receiving services)  (one or both receiving services)  

* A higher amount may be allowed if  you have a spousal assessment done (see Notice to 
Married Couples).  

** Participation in program is based on availabil ity of funds. State Funded clients are required 
to pay 4.5% of the cost of their services.  

 

If  your income and assets are within these amounts you may qualify for services.  



A S S I S T E D  L I V I N G  S E R V I C E S  

 

Assisted Living Services are a combination of  supportive services,  personal ized ass istance 

and health care designed to respond to the individual  needs of those who need help with 

activit ies of  daily l iv ing such as bathing and dressing . Supportive services are available 24 

hours a  day to meet residents’  needs.  

Assisted l iv ing bridges the gap between independent l iv ing and nursing homes. Assisted 

l iv ing is  designed for pe ople who want to l ive in the community but who do not need as  

much care as they would receive at a nursing home.  

*Personal Care Attendant Services -  family members are NOT el igible to be paid for  taking 

care of relat ives with very rare exceptions.  

*Chore Ass istance -  only avai lable  as part of a package of services to appl icants who meet 

al l  other e l ig ibi l ity cr i ter ia.  

Adult  Family L iving  -  B i l l  Payer  -  Support Broker  -  Care Transit ions  -  Chronic Disease Self -

Management -  Ass ist ive Technology  

 

W h o  i s  E l i g i b l e ?  

Applicants must:  

  Be age 65 or older.   

  Be referred to and become eligible for the CT Home Care Program for Elders by 

meeting funct ional and f inancial  requirements.  

Depending on the appl icant’s  income and assets,  program partic ipants may be required to 

pay a 9% cost  share or  applied income. Cost share and applied income payments are 

mandatory and required.  

  The CT Home Care Program for Elders (CHCPE)  referral,  application,  screening and 

assessment process must be fol lowed and completed before services can begin.    

 

W h o  p r o v i d e s  A s s i s t e d  L i v i n g  S e r v i c e s ?  

Assisted Living Services Agencies (ALSAs) provide nursing and personal c are to individuals 

l iv ing in Managed Residential  Communit ies (MRC).  The MRCs provide core services such as 

housekeeping, laundry,  meals,  24 -hr.  security,  one main meal per day, l ight housekeeping, 

“expanded core serv ices” such as:  a Residential  Service Co ordinator,  emergency 

transportation, and wellness/prevent ion services.    

The Ass isted L iving Services Agency (ALSA) provides personal care which inc ludes hands -on 

assistance with daily activit ies inc luding dressing, grooming, bathing, using the toilet ,  

transferring,  walk ing and eating. Personal Services may inc lude changing bed l inens in 

conjunction with incontinence care.  

https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-And-Home-Care/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders-CHCPE


 

What Services are Included?  

There are four service packages based on the participant’s functional needs.  

Service Packages  

O c c a s i o n a l  P e r s o n a l  S e r v i c e  

1 hour per week, up to 3.75 hours per week of personal services plus nursing vis its as 

needed.  

L i m i t e d  P e r s o n a l  S e r v i c e  

4 hours per week, up to 8.75 hours per week of personal services plus nursing vis its as 

needed.  

M o d e r a t e  P e r s o n a l  S e r v i c e  

9 hours per week, up to 14.75 hours per week of personal services plus nursing visits as 

needed.  

E x t e n s i v e  P e r s o n a l  S e r v i c e s  

15 hours per week, up to 25 hours per  week of personal services plus nurs ing visits as 

needed 

 

The CT Home Care Program for Elders does not pay for room and board.  

W h e r e  a r e  s e r v i c e s  p r o v i d e d ?  

•  State funded congregate housing faci l it ies  

•  Federally funded HUD faci l it ies   

•  Four affordable Ass isted Living Demonstrat ion Sites  

There is  a  pr ivate assisted l iv ing pi lot program with a l imited number of slots .  Interested 

parties may call  to be placed on a wait ing l ist .  

 

Please see the l ist  of participating assisted l iv ing si tes  https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health -

And-Home-Care/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-E lders/Connecticut-Home-Care-

Program-for-E lders-CHCPE/Documents .    

For more information:   

800-445-5394 toll  free  

860-424-4904 locally  

https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-And-Home-Care/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders-CHCPE/Documents
https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-And-Home-Care/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders-CHCPE/Documents
https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-And-Home-Care/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders/Connecticut-Home-Care-Program-for-Elders-CHCPE/Documents


N A T I O N A L  F A M I L Y  C A R E G I V E R  S U P P O R T  P R O G R A M  

The Nat ional  Family Caregiver Support Program provides a per iodic break for caregivers to 

regroup both physical ly  and emotionally.  Funds are avai lable for a  variety of services to 

support family members and other unpaid caregivers caring for older individuals as  well  as 

grandparents and older relat ives car ing for grandchildren, or parents caring for an adult  

child with a disabi l ity.  
 

 P r o g r a m  S e r v i c e s :  

 Services are arranged through Area Agency on Aging staff  who assess each s ituation and 

helps determine el igibi l ity and services that may be received through the NFCSP. Respite 

services and the purchase of it ems are prior it ized based on several  factors including social  

need and income of care recipient .  
  

S e r v i c e s  i n c l u d e  

Information and assistance to help connect caregivers to services to ease the burden of 

caregiv ing.  

  Offers short-term respite services so  that caregivers can get the t ime and the rest 

they deserve.  

  Training opportunit ies  for caregivers to equip them with technical  ski l ls  to provide 

needed care.  

  Connecting caregivers  to area support groups.  

  Purchasing items and services not covered by other sources,  as determined by the 

case manager.  

E l i g i b i l i t y  

To be el ig ible for assistance a caregiver must meet specif ic  requirements for program 

participation. Care rec ipients (person requir ing care) must have an ident if ied caregiver in 

order to receive serv ices and met one of the fol lowing criteria:  

  Adult  family members or other informal caregivers,  age 18 and older,  providing care 

to individuals 60 years  of age and older.  

  Adult  family members or other informal caregivers,  age 18 and older,  providing care 

to individuals of  any age with Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.  

  Grandparents and other relat ives 55 years of age and older providing care to children 

under the age of 18.  

  Grandparents and other relat ives  55 years of age and older providing care to adults 

age 18-59 with disabi l it ies.  

C o n t a c t  the  Area Agency on Aging in your area either by cal l ing  1-800-994-9422 ( in CT) 

or by visit ing their website.  



C O N N E C T I C U T  S T A T E W I D E  R E S P I T E  C A R E  P R O G R A M  

This program offers re l ief to stressed caregivers by providing information, support,  the 

development of an appropriate plan of care,  and services for the individual with Alzheimer’s 

Disease or related dementias.  Cl ients may receive care through the delivery o f services 

through agencies (tradit ional care option) or caregivers may hire someone of their choice to 

provide care (sel f -directed care option) .   The program may subsidize the cost of services  not 

to exceed an amount up to $7,500 per year;  however,  this f unding is  contingent upon 

available funding and subject to the applicant’s level of need as determined by the Care 

Manager,  and a maximum of 30 days of out of home respite care services (excluding Adult  

Day Care) avai lable per year to each applicant.  This program is a joint partnership between 

the Alzheimer’s Association Connecticut Chapter,  the Area Agencies on Aging, and the 

Connecticut Department of Aging and Disabi l ity Services -  State Unit  on Aging.     

  

T h e  e l i g i b i l i t y  c r i t e r i a  a r e  a s  f o l l o w s :   
 

Applicants ( individuals with Alzheimer’s or a related dementia)  must have an income 

of $48,266 a year or less,  l iquid assets of $128,321 or less,  and cannot be enrolled in the 

Connecticut Homecare Program for Elders.  Effective July 1,  2022 these l imits wil l  cha nge 

to $51,114 and $135,892, respectively .   Income is considered to be Social  Security (minus 

the Medicare Part B premiums),  Supplemental Security Income, Railroad Retirement Income, 

veterans’  benef its,  and any other payments received on a one -t ime or recurr ing 

basis .   L iquid assets include checking and savings accounts,  stocks,  bonds, IRAs,  certif icates 

of deposit,  or other holdings that can be converted into cash.  

 

A Co-payment of 20% of the cost of services  is  required unless waived by the Agency on 

Aging Care Manager due to f inancial  hardship.  

  

An applicat ion must be completed which inc ludes a Physician’s statement certifying the 

condit ion of the individual with Alzheimer’s disease or a related dementia.   

  

For more information on the CT Statewide Respi te Program, cal l  1-800-994-9422 to be 

directed to your nearest Area Agency on Aging or contact the Care Manager directly:  

  

Joan Marshall  

Senior Resources (Eastern 

CT)  

(860) 887-3561 

Beverly Kidder  
Agency on Aging of South 
Central  CT  
(203) 785-8533 

Katie Regan 
Southwestern CT Agency on 
Aging 
(203) 333-9288    

Jessica Warner  
Western CT Area Agency on 
Aging 
(203) 757-5449 

Lee Morgan 
North Central  CT Area 
Agency on Aging  
(860) 724-6443 

 



For more information on Alzheimer's disease ,  as wel l  as counseling and support groups,  

call  the Connecticut Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association at  1-800-272-3900 or (860) 828-

2828. 

  

A d d i t i o n a l  l i n k s  t o  A l z h e i m e r ’ s  D i s e a s e  a n d  s u p p o r t s :  

 The Alzheimer’s Association, Connecticut Chapter:  www.alz.org/ct  

  The Alzheimer’s Association, Nat ional Off ice:  www.alz.org  

  The Nat ional  Plan to Address Alzheimer's Disease  https://aspe.hhs.gov/national -

plan-address-alzheimers-disease  

  The Nat ional  Institute on Aging’s Alzheimer’s  Disease Educat ion and Referral  

Center:  https://www.nia.nih.gov/alzheimers  

  The Nat ional  Alzheimer’s Contact Center is  a  free tool for caregivers avai lable 24 

hours/day, 365 days/year.   It  offers an integrated network of information special ists 

and c l inicians who can provide you with fr ee consultation and support by phone or 

online.   A senior housing f inder,  group calendars,  message boards and other free 

online tools are accessible at the 

website:   http://www.alz.org/we_can_help_caresource.asp  or cal l  the 24-hour 

helpline toll  f ree # at  1-800-272-3900. 

  

F o r  m o r e  i n f o r m a t i o n  o n  c a r e g i v e r  s u p p o r t s ,  t h e  f o l l o w i n g  

w e b s i t e s  a r e  a v a i l a b l e :  

  The Nat ional  Al l iance for Caregiving:  www.caregiving.org  

  The Nat ional  Family Caregiver Association:  www.nfcacares.org  

  

I f  you have any quest ions concerning this program or related services,  feel free to contact 

Cynthia Resto at  (860)  424-5279 or Cynthia.Resto@ct.gov .  

The Nat ional  Family Caregiver Support Program provides a per iodic break for caregivers to 

regroup both physical ly  and emotionally.  Funds are avai lable for a  variety of services to 

support family members and other unpaid caregivers caring for older individuals as  well  as 

grandparents and older relat ives car ing for grandchildren, or parents caring for an adult  

child with a disabi l ity.  

 

 

 

 

http://www.alz.org/ct
http://www.alz.org/
https://aspe.hhs.gov/national-plan-address-alzheimers-disease
https://aspe.hhs.gov/national-plan-address-alzheimers-disease
https://www.nia.nih.gov/alzheimers
http://www.alz.org/we_can_help_caresource.asp
http://www.caregiving.org/
http://www.nfcacares.org/
mailto:Cynthia.Resto@ct.gov


 P r o g r a m  S e r v i c e s :  

 

Services are arranged through Area Agency on Aging staff  who assess each s ituation and 

helps determine el igibi l ity and services that may be received through the NFCSP. Respite 

services and the purchase of items are prior it ized based on several  factors incl uding social  

need and income of care recipient .  

  

S e r v i c e s  i n c l u d e  

 

  Information  and assistance to help connect caregivers to services to ease the burden 

of caregiv ing.  

  Offers short-term respite services so that caregivers can get the t ime and the rest 

they deserve.  

  Training opportunit ies  for caregivers to equip them with technical  ski l ls  to provide 

needed care.  

  Connecting caregivers  to area support groups.  

  Purchasing items and services not covered by other sources,  as determined by the 

case manager.  

E l i g i b i l i t y  

To be el ig ible for assistance a caregiver must meet specif ic  requirements for program 

participation. Care rec ipients (person requir ing care) must have an ident if ied caregiver in 

order to receive services and met one of the fol lowing criteria:  

  Adult  family members or other informal caregivers,  age 18 and older,  providing care 

to individuals 60 years  of age and older.  

  Adult  family members or other informal caregivers,  age 18 and older,  providing care 

to individuals of  any age with Alzheimer’s disease and related disorders.  

  Grandparents and other relat ives 55 years of age and older providing care to children 

under the age of 18.  

  Grandparents and other relat ives  55 years of age and older providing care to adults 

age 18-59 with disabi l it ies.  

C o n t a c t  

Contact the Area Agency on Aging in your area either by cal l ing  1-800-994-9422 ( in CT) or by 

visit ing their website.  

 



M O N E Y  F O L L O W S  T H E  P E R S O N  

M o n e y  F o l l o w s  t h e  P e r s o n  i s  a  F e d e r a l  d e m o n s t r a t i o n  p r o j e c t  

d e d i c a t e d  t o  a s s u r i n g  C o n n e c t i c u t  r e s i d e n t s  a c c e s s  t o  a  f u l l  

r a n g e  o f  h i g h  q u a l i t y ,  l o n g - t e r m  c a r e  o p t i o n s  t h a t  m a x i m i z e  

a u t o n o m y ,  c h o i c e  a n d  d i g n i t y .  

Money Follows the Person (MFP) helps Medicaid e l ig ible  indiv iduals currently l iv ing in long -

term care fac i l it ies –  such as  nurs ing homes,  hospitals and other quali f ied institutions –  

successful ly transit ion back into the community.   

W h o  i s  e l i g i b l e ?  To participate in the program, you must be el ig ible for Medicaid and 

l iv ing in a long-term care or hospital  sett ing for at least 3 months.  You should have an 

interest in l iv ing in the community & be el ig ible for one of the community service packages.  

H o w  d o e s  i t  w o r k ?  Based on your individual needs, MFP provides the funds, services 

and support you need for a successful transit ion into the community.  In addit ion to 

returning to your own home, housing options inc lude individual apartments,  assisted l iv ing 

and group homes. Your Transit ion Coordinator wil l  be your advocate in the transit ion 

process,  working with you and your care t eam on a one-to-one basis to develop a plan 

that’s r ight for you.  

H o w  d o e s  t h e  m o n e y  f o l l o w  m e ?  The cost of your current nurs ing home care is  

the dollar l imit  for your services in the community.  Your actual budget,  however,  wi l l  be 

determined by your needs .  You do not automatical ly  get the dollar l imit  if  you don’t  need it .  

Note:  MFP does not give money directly to you.  

W h a t  d o e s  t h e  p r o g r a m  p a y  f o r ?  MFP pays for your care in the community  as 

well  as var ious expenses that come when a person moves into a mor e independent 

situat ion. Based on circumstances & needs, you may be el ig ible to receive help w/home 

modificat ions,  rent  & security deposits,  a long w / 1-t ime setup costs for a new apartment.  

W h a t  k i n d  o f  s u p p o r t  c a n  I  e x p e c t ?  Your Transit ion Coordinator wil l  work 

with you and your care team to help f ind a place for you to l ive and ident ify serv ice 

providers such as nurses,  physical  therapists  or home health aides in your community.   

H o w  l o n g  d o e s  i t  t a k e ?  The f irst  step of the process is  the d evelopment of a 

transit ion plan. Whi le the goal is  to move as quick ly as possible,  each plan is  based on 

individual  needs, and therefore each t imel ine to transit ion is  different.  Your Transit ion 

Coordinator wil l  advise you what to expect in your particular  si tuation.  

H o w  m u c h  c a r e  c a n  I  r e c e i v e ?  Your care plan is  dependent on your situation. 

The care management team wil l  help assess what level of care wil l  help provide a safe and 

successful t ransit ion to the community.  The assessment a lso looks at how many hours need 

to be covered in any given day.  



D o  I  h a v e  a  s a y ?  You are the most important person in the transit ion process.  If  you 

are happy in your current situation, you can choose to stay where you are. At each stage of 

the transit ion process,  you have the  choice of whether or not to continue.  

H o w  d o  I  l e a r n  m o r e ?  This brochure is  designed to provide a brief outl ine of the 

Money Follows the Person program. There are more details  to think about in order to 

decide if  it  is  r ight for  you.  To f ind out more, talk to your transit ion team.  Or vis it  

the Department of Social  Service MFP Site .  

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.ct.gov/dss/cwp/view.asp?Q=414524&A=2345
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Overview of Medicaid Waiver 

Programs in Connecticut 
 

Department of Social Services (DSS) Waivers 

Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders - Serves elders (65 years of age and older) who 

are either at risk of institutionalization or meet nursing home level of care.  Clients must meet 

functional and financial eligibility criteria.  Services include homemaker, companion, personal 

emergency response system, meals on wheels, adult day care, chore, mental health counseling, 

assisted living, personal care attendant, assistive technology, adult family living, care 

management, minor home modifications.  For more information and to apply, please visit 

www.ct.gov/dss/chcpe or www.ct.gov/dss/apply (scroll to Medicaid Long-Term Services and 

Supports). 

 

Katie Beckett Waiver - Serves children and young adults with severe disabilities under age 22.  

Services include case management and Medicaid coverage aimed at keeping the child or young 

adult in the community instead of an institutionalized setting.  The Home and Community-Based 

Services that allow the enrollee to remain in the community are provided under the Medicaid 

state plan.  A maximum of 300 slots is funded under legislation.  Parents’ income and assets are 

not factored into the initial eligibility.  This offers families of all income levels the opportunity to 

access services they otherwise may not be able to afford.  Waiting list applies.  For more 

information, please contact the DSS Alternate Care Unit at 1-800-445-5394 (toll-free); or 860-

424-5582 (Hartford area).  

Personal Care Attendant (PCA) Waiver – Provides personal care assistance services included 

in a care plan to maintain adults with chronic, severe, and permanent disabilities in the 

community.  Without these services, the adult would otherwise require institutionalization.  The 

care plan is developed by a Department social worker, in partnership with the adult.  Effective 

January 1, 2015, the plans are developed with the consumer by an Access Agency care manager.  

Adults must be age 18-64 to apply, must have significant need for hands on assistance with at 

least two activities of daily living (eating, bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting), must lack 

family and community supports to meet the need, and must meet all technical, procedural and 

financial requirements of the Medicaid program.  Medicaid for Employees with Disabilities is an 

option.  Eligible adults must be able to direct their own care and supervise private household 

employees, or have a Conservator to do so.  An adult deemed eligible for the PCA Waiver is 

http://www.ct.gov/dss/chcpe
http://www.ct.gov/dss/apply
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eligible for all Medicaid-covered services.  A waiting list applies.  The first step in applying is to 

fill out and return a PCA Waiver Request Form.  To download a copy of the form, please click 

here:  www.ct.gov/dss/lib/dss/pdfs/W-982.pdf .  

Acquired Brain Injury (ABI) Waivers – There are two ABI Waiver programs, known as ABI 

Waiver I and ABI Waiver II.  Both employ the principles of person-centered planning to provide 

a range of non-medical, home and community-based services, to help maintain adults who have 

an acquired brain injury (not a developmental or degenerative disorder), in the community.  

Without these services, the adult would otherwise require placement in institutional settings.  

Adults must be age 18-64 to apply, must be able to participate in the development of a service 

plan in partnership with a Department social worker, or have a Conservator to do so, and must 

meet all technical, procedural and financial requirements of the Medicaid program.  Medicaid for 

Employees with Disabilities is an option.  An adult deemed eligible for the ABI Waiver is 

eligible for all Medicaid-covered services.  A waiting list applies.  The first step in applying is to 

fill out and return an ABI Waiver Request Form.  To download a copy of the form, please click 

here:  www.ct.gov/dss/lib/dss/pdfs/w1130ABIRequestForm.pdf.  Please note that the correct 

address to send the form to is DSS, Social Work Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, Hartford, CT 

06105. 

 

 

Department of Developmental Disabilities (DDS) Waivers 

Comprehensive Waiver - Provides services for participants with intellectual and/or 

developmental disabilities that have significant physical, behavioral or medical support needs.  

Provides adult day health, community companion homes/community living arrangements, group 

day supports, live-in caregiver, respite, supported employment, independent support broker, 

adult companion, assisted living, behavioral support, continuous residential supports, 

environmental modifications, health care coordination, individual goods and services, 

individualized day supports, individualized home supports, interpreter, nutrition, parenting 

support, personal emergency response systems, personal support, senior supports, specialized 

medical equipment and supplies, transportation and vehicle modifications.  

Individual and Family Supports Waiver - Designed to support individuals who live in their 

own homes or in their family homes and need less extensive supports than individuals on the 

Comprehensive Waiver.  Provides adult day health, community companion homes (formerly 

community training homes), group day supports, individual supported employment (formerly 

http://www.ct.gov/dss/lib/dss/pdfs/W-982.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/dss/lib/dss/pdfs/w1130ABIRequestForm.pdf
http://www.ct.gov/dds/site/default.asp
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supported employment), live-in companion, prevocational services, respite, independent support 

broker, behavioral support, companion supports (formerly adult companion), continuous 

residential supports, environmental mods, group supported employment (formerly supported 

employment), health care coordination, individualized day supports, individualized home 

supports, individually directed goods and services, interpreter, nutrition, parenting support, 

personal emergency response systems, personal support, senior supports, specialized medical 

equipment and supplies, transportation and vehicle modifications.  

Employment and Day Supports Waiver - Targets young adults transitioning from school to 

work with similar services as the other DDS waivers.  Provides adult day health, community 

based day support options, respite, supported employment, independent support broker, 

behavioral support, individual goods and services, individualized day support, interpreter, 

specialized medical equipment and supplies and transportation. 

Early Childhood Autism Waiver - Serves three- and four-year-olds with autism.  Services 

provided are an ABA-certified clinician and a life skills coach. 

Autism Waiver - Serves individuals ages three and older with an IQ of greater than 70.  Services 

are provided in the person’s own home or family home. Provides community companion homes, 

live-in companion, respite, assistive technology, clinical behavioral support, community mentor, 

individuals good and services, interpreter, job coaching, life skills coach, non-medical 

transportation, personal emergency response systems, social skills group and a specialized 

driving assessment for individuals. 

For more information about DDS waivers, please visit:  

www.ct.gov/dds/cwp/view.asp?a=2042&q=332294  

 

 

Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) Waiver 

Serves persons with serious mental illness who otherwise require nursing facility level of care 

with the goal of keeping the person in the community rather than a nursing home.  Waiver 

services complement and/or supplement services available to participants through the Medicaid 

State Plan and other federal, state and local public programs, as well as natural supports that 

families and communities provide. 

http://www.ct.gov/dds/cwp/view.asp?a=2042&q=332294
http://www.ct.gov/dmhas
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For more information about the DMHAS waiver, please visit: 

www.ct.gov/dmhas/cwp/view.asp?a=2902&q=423430 

 

 

Medicaid Waiver Financial Eligibility 

 

Income 

All of the Medicaid waivers have a gross income limit of 300% of the base Supplemental 

Security Income (SSI) rate.  The 300% amount of SSI, effective January 1, 2015, is $2,199 a 

month for a single individual.  This figure is a gross income-eligibility test.  No adjustment to 

income is allowed.  If gross income is less than the limit, the requirement is met.  If income 

exceeds the limit, the client is ineligible for a Medicaid waiver.   

Assets 

Medicaid waivers have two asset limits, dependent on the age and disability status of the 

applicant.  If the client has eligibility based on elder status (over 65), disability (age 18 - 64), or 

blindness, the asset limit is $1,600.  If the client is a child (under 18), the asset limit of $1,000 is 

used.  Only the recipient’s assets are considered.  Clients with excess assets are ineligible for 

services until the month that assets are reduced to within the asset limit. 

Assets and the Community Spouse 

The spouse of a client approved for a Medicaid waiver program becomes what is called the 

Medicare Catastrophic Care Act (MCCA) Community Spouse.  As part of the initial eligibility 

determination, any assets held either individually or jointly are deemed to be available using the 

criteria below.  Once eligibility is established for the institutionalized (waiver) spouse, the 

deeming ceases.  The MCCA Community Spouse is allowed half of all assets, subject to a 

minimum and maximum.  For 2014, the minimum amount protected for the community spouse 

was $23,448 and the maximum is $117,240.  These amounts increase to $23,844 and $119,220 

for 2015. 

 

[updated 1-6-15, CT DSS]  

http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/cwp/view.asp?a=2902&q=423430
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 CONNECTICUT HOME CARE PROGRAM FOR ELDERS (CHCPE) REQUEST FOR REFERRAL 

 

The Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders (CHCPE) provides assistance to adults who are 65 years and 
older with difficulty in performing some Activities of Daily Living (ADL). This program provides many of the services 
you will need to remain in your home instead of going to a long-term care facility or nursing home. 

Eligibility for CHCPE is a two part process: 

  Part 1: Functional: You must have a need for these services. Specifically, you must physically demonstrate that 
  you have need for hands-on assistance in performing some Activities of Daily Living. 

• Bathing – need help to properly bath yourself?  
• Eating/Feeding – need help to properly feed yourself? (This does not mean making or preparing meals.) 
• Toileting – need help going to/from toilet and/or properly clean yourself afterwards? 
• Transfer – need help to safely transfer in and out of chairs / bed? 
• Medication – need help preparing and/or taking your daily medications? 
• Behavioral – need daily supervision to keep from harming yourself or others? 

Part 2: Financial: You must meet either the Medicaid or State Funded (Waiver) financial criteria to receive 
 services under CHCPE. You will be expected to apply for Medicaid if you meet the financial criteria.  If you 
 do not meet the financial criteria for Medicaid, you may be eligible for State-Funded Home Care Services. 

 

INCOME AND ASSET INFORMATION 

MONTHLY INCOME LIMITS 1 MEDICAID INCOME LIMIT STATE FUNDED INCOME LIMIT   
 $2,205.00 per month   No Limit 

Asset Limits 2 MEDICAID (WAIVER) 3   STATE FUNDED 4    
 Individual -  $1600.00       $36,270.00    
 Couple -  $3,200.00    (Both receiving services) $48,360.00 - Combined Assets (One or both receiving services) 

 Couple -  $25,780.00 3 (One receiving services) $48,360.00 - Combined Assets (One or both receiving services) 
3  A higher amount may be allowed if you have a spousal assessment done (see Notice to Married Couples next page). 
4 Participation is based on availability of funds. State Funded clients must pay 9% of the cost of their services. 

1 Income - How DSS Counts Your Monthly Income: We count your total (gross) monthly income, before any 
deductions, including any deductions for Medicare premiums. This includes all income you get on a regular basis, 
like wages, pension, Social Security, Veteran’s benefits and Supplemental Security Income. We count only your 
income, not your spouse’s or anyone else’s income. List only your income and no one else’s. 
2 Assets - How DSS Counts All of Your Assets: We count all assets owned by you and your spouse. This 
includes, but is not limited to, real estate not used as your home, non-essential motor vehicles, campers, boats, 
bank/credit union accounts (savings, checking, CD, IRA, Vacation or Christmas Club), stocks, revocable trust funds, 
bonds, U.S. Savings Bonds, total cash surrender value of life insurance with a total face value that exceeds $1,500.00. 
We do NOT count the following: Your house that you use as your home and its furnishings, your personal 
belongings (clothes, jewelry) or the vehicle that you use for transportation.  Certain burial funds - irrevocable up to 
$8,00.00 for each person OR revocable up to $1,800.00. Burial plots - For single individuals, one plot.  For married 
individuals, one plot for each spouse and certain other family members under certain conditions.  A plot may include 
a casket, outer container and opening and closing of the grave. Life insurance policies if the total face value of all 
policies does not exceed $1,500.00.  (Otherwise count total cash surrender value of all policies.) 
Please Note: If your income is below the program limit, but your counted assets exceed the asset limit, you may be 
screened for CHCPE when you reduce your assets to the limit.  You are not required to spend your excess assets 
on health care.  You may spend them on any goods or services for yourself or your spouse, as long as you receive 
fair market value in exchange for your excess assets and keep all of your receipts.  When you have reduced your 
assets to the limit, you may reapply to CHCPE. 
DSS may pursue legally liable relative contributions from spouses or recipients receiving services under CHCPE and has 
the right to recover monies from the sale of real estate and from the estates of individuals who received services under 
the CHCPE, including private insurance premiums paid on behalf of the individual. 

 

CAREFULLY READ THE NEXT PAGE AND ANSWER ALL OF THE QUESTIONS  
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CONNECTICUT HOMECARE PROGRAM FOR ELDERS (CHCPE) REQUEST FOR REFERRAL  
 
 

Section A  APPLICANT’S PERSONAL INFORMATION 
Applicant’s Last Name  First Name   
Date of Birth  Marital Status:  Single  Married  Separated  Divorced  Widowed  

Social Security Number  Gender:    Male   Female  

Address (of applicant)    

Phone       Medicaid Number (if you have one)     
I live: (check one)  Alone  With family  Group home  Assisted living   

 

Section B Financial Assessment 
1. My monthly income is: $    2. My (total) assets are: $  

Notice to Married Couples – Under state and federal law, a married couple can protect assets for the spouse who 
is living at home while the other spouse is either in a nursing home or receiving nursing home level-of-care at 
home. This process is called a Spousal Assessment. You can request a Spousal Assessment before you apply for 
state or federal services. 

 Yes   No  I would like a Spousal Assessment to see what I can protect for my spouse.  
 

SECTION C Functional Assessment       
1. Personal Needs: Tell us if you need help with these tasks. (Write the number of help you need): 
 0 = No help  1 = Supervision / Reminders Needed 2 = Hands-on help 3 = Total dependence 
 Bathing   Dressing  Eating   Toileting  Transfer (in and out of bed/chairs)   
 Walking   Medications     (Do you need help taking your daily meds? If so, tell us how much help you need.) 

 Continence (Bowel and/or Bladder Control)   _  Meal Preparation  
2. Living Arrangements: (Circle one) 
 Homeless Home with Family Home Alone Group Home Shelter Other   
 At home, does someone from your family or community (neighbors) help you whenever you need it?   Yes No 
3. Behavioral Problems: (Circle all that apply)       
 Wandering Abusive / Assaultive Self Injurious Verbally Aggressive Unsafe / Unhealthy Habits Threats to safety  
4. Medical Diagnosis or Condition: (Write in below)    
  
        
 

 

Section D   Point of Contact 
Please contact me instead of the applicant: Name        
    (I am the Point of Contact for the applicant)   
Phone      Relationship (family, friend, etc.)    
 

X           
Applicant’s signature or mark (X) Date    Witness’ signature if signed with an X 
           
Person completing form on applicant’s behalf Relationship        Phone Number  
FACILITY STAFF ONLY:  Please complete if the person is in a hospital or a nursing home. (Not needed if a health screen is attached.) 

Name of facility:  

Staff Member / Date      Phone #  

Mail to: Department of Social Services, Community Options, 9th floor, 55 Farmington Ave, Hartford, CT 
06105-3725 or Fax to 860 424-4963 

 
 

REMEMBER! A fully completed form will prevent delays in processing your application. 
Persons who are deaf or hard of hearing and have a TDD/TTY device can contact DSS at 1-800-842-4524.  Persons who are 
blind or visually impaired, can contact DSS at 1-860-424-5040. 

  

I am the: 
• Power-of-Attorney 
• Conservator 
• Guardian 
(Circle if appropriate) 




