INCOME DOCUMENT CHECKLIST:

O Copy of 2021 Income Tax Return (if you filed)
Social Security 1099 for 2021

SSI Benefit Letter (if you receive) for 2021
Pensions, VA Pension, RR Retirement 1099’s 2021
Unemployment, Severance Pay 1099 for 2021
Annuity 1099 for 2021

Employment W2 with Tax Return for 2021

Self Employment Net Income for 2021

Interest 1099’s for all bank accts/investments 2021
Interest resulting from Gifts Received for 2021
Alimony/Child Suppott for 2021

Rental Income for 2021

Legal Settlements—Net Proceeds for 2021
Alimony—Copy of Divorce Decree for 2021
Capital Gains for 2021

Other Income: Paypal, Ebay, lottery, casino, etc.
IRA distributions for 2021

Dividends for 2021

Anthem Sale of Stock (entire proceeds) for 2021
Cancellation of Debt for 2021

Lottery/Casino Winnings for 2021

Workman's Comp 1099 for 2021

Black Lung Payments for 2021
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Green Thumb Payments for 2021

If you filed a tax return you are required
to provide a copy of it.

Applicants filing as DISABLED and UNDER
age 65 MUST show an SSA 1099 showing Med-
icare Deduction OR a current award letter that

states that you are entitled to and receiving
monthly disability benefits from SSA

INCOME GUIDELINES 2022

O SINGLE Must not Exceed $38,100

O MARRIED Must Not Exceed $46,400

Determined by:
The State of Connecticut

Office of Policy & Management

FYI:

You apply in the Town you CURRENLTY

reside in, regardless of what Town/City you
rented in in Connecticut in 2021; meaning:
you must CURRENTLY reside in Branford
to apply in Branford.

46 Church Street—Upper Level
Branford CT 06405

CANOE BROOK CENTER

RENTERS REBATE

2022 —for 2021 Rental Year

Guidelines & benefits subject to change
per State budget mandates

FOR CONNECTICUT
RENTERS AGE 65 OR OLDER
OR DISABLED

For an appointment or more information
203-315-0682

Marlowe Ioime, Assistant Director
Phone: (203) 315-0682
Email: mioime@branford-ct.gov

Revised 03/2022



by appointment only

(203) 315-0682

RENTERS REBATE 2022 FOR 2021 RENTAL YEAR

ENTERS REBATE 2022

State law provides a reimbursement program for
Connecticut renters who are elderly (aged 65 or
over) or totally disabled and receiving Social
Security Disability benefits; and whose incomes do
not exceed certain limits. Persons renting an apart-
ment or room, or living in cooperative housing or a
mobile home may be eligible for this program.
Renters' rebates can be up to $900 for married

couples and $700 for single persons.

The renters' rebate amount is based on a graduated
income scale and the amount of rent and utility
payments (excluding telephone & cable) made in

the calendar vear prior to the vear in which the

renter applies.

Must meet a one year
state residency requirement
Program runs from April 1st to October 1st.

By appointment only beginning 6/1

PROOF OF RENT & UTILITY
PAYMENTS

O Rent Payments for each month of 2021

O Electric Payments for each month of 2021
O Gas Payments for each month of 2021

O Oil/Kerosene/Propane Payments for 2021
O Water Payments for 2021

ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF
PROOF OF RENT PAYMENTS

Letter from your landlord on their letterhead
with their contact information that states how
much YOU paid rent from Jan. 2021 to
Dec. 2021. Cannot include monies paid by
subsidies, such as section 8

Rental Ledger from your housing complex
showing YOUR payments.

Copies of cancelled checks or money orders
(You must have each month. You will not
receive credit for missing months

If vou received rental assistance from any

agency including but not limited to
UNITECT, please provide a copy of assis-

tance received in 2021

Rent Receipts that are DATED, have the
amount of money you paid and MUST be
signed by the landlord and have their con-
tact info on it. (You must have each month. If
any are missing you will not receive credit for
them.)

Section 8 Renters—You must provide proof
of what YOU actually paid, and not the full
amount including your section 8 subsidy. If
you are submitting a letter from your landlord
it must specifically say what YOU are paying
MINUS the subsidy. Copy of Sect. 8 Benefit
Letter must be included.

If vou RENT from a FAMILY MEMBER
you are REQUIRED to submit a copy of the
landlords tax return which must also show

they are declaring the rental income (family
member landlord onlyl)

o

You MUST provide proof of what YOU
paid in rent for each month of 2021. We
CANNOT accept lease agreements or the
front copy of rent checks as proof. If you
are missing any months, you will not re-
ceive credit for having paid it. -

See Acceptable Forms of Proof of Rent

ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF PROOF
OF UTILITY PAYMENTS

O Copies of cancelled checks or money or-
ders for each month in 2021 (You must
have each month. If any are missing you

will not receive credit for them)

O Printout of 2021 payments from your

Utility Company

O Copies of monthly bills from 2021 that

shows the prior month payment on them.

O We can get your Eversource & SCGC
Payment histories for you if you sign

a release with us.



