Probate Court

You are here

Branford / No. Branford Probate District (PD-35)

Connecticut is divided into 54 districts, each of which is presided over by a Judge of Probate who is elected to office for a four-year term.


Probate Courts have jurisdiction over many matters:

  • Probating wills and the administration of estates;
  • Overseeing testamentary and living trust;
  • Determining title to real personal property;
  • Construing the meaning of wills and trusts;
  • Appointing guardians for the intellectually disabled;
  • Appointing conservators of the person and the estate of incapable individuals;
  • Committing those suffering from mental illness, alcoholism, or drug addiction to an appropriate facility;
  • Removing unfit parents as guardians of their children;
  • Terminating the parental rights of parents who cannot fulfill their parental responsibilities;
  • Granting adoptions;
  • Granting name changes;
  • Other matters

Sometimes the issues presented to the Probate Courts are complex and difficult. Therefore, it is important that you seek competent professional advice, so that your legal rights are fully protected.

For additional information about Probate Courts try the State of Connecticut Judicial Branch web site.