You are here

Marriage Licenses-issued by appt 8:30am-4pm

PLEASE NOTE: As we enter the busy wedding season, effective immediately we will return to an appointment system for issuing marriage licenses. Couples planning to be married in Branford are asked to call: (203)315-0678 for an appointment. Thank you for your cooperation.

Congratulations on your upcoming marriage!  Processing of marriage licenses for couples being married in Branford takes place in the Town Clerk's office during the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.  The license fee is $50.00 by cash, check or money order (no debit or credit cards.)  Please print the Marriage License Worksheet, complete it and bring it with you.  Both parties to the marriage must appear in-person before the registrar to apply for the license, however, they need not both appear at the same time.  The license must be dated, signed and sworn to by each of the applicants.  The later date signed will be considered the date of the application.  The marriage license will be valid for 65 days from the date of application.  At the time of applying for a marriage license, the couple may opt to prepay an additional $20 to order a certified copy of the marriage certificate mailed post-marriage.  Please note, if your marriage ceremony will take place at Bill Miller's Castle you must obtain your marriage license from the NORTH Branford Town Clerk.

Premarital Requirements in Connecticut
A marriage license is required by the Marriage License Laws of Connecticut. The procedure for obtaining the marriage license and other related information is stated below.

  • Both parties must appear in person to apply for marriage license. 
  • Photo identification required (Driver's License or Passport)
  • You must apply in the town where the ceremony will be held.
  • The Marriage License is valid for 65 days from date of issuance.

A person is eligible to enter into a marriage if such person is:

  • not a party to another marriage
  • at least 18 years of age, or if under 18 years of age, at least 16 years old with the approval of the probate court judge of the district in which the minor resides.  Judge of Probate Court must endorse with written consent on the license.
  • not under the supervision of a conservator unless written consent of the conservator has been granted
  • not prohibited from entering into a marriage pursuant to C.G.S. 46b-21.  This statute prohibits marriages of persons related by consanguinity or affinity.  Those persons are defined as:  parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, sibling, parent's sibling, sibling's child, stepparent or stepchild.  Any marriage within these degrees is void.


C.G.S. 46b-22 lists persons authorized to perform marriages in Connecticut.  Authorized officiators are:

  • all judges, including out-of-state judges who are authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in their jurisdictions
  • family support magistrates, state referees and justices of the peace who are appointed in Connecticut
  • all ordained or licensed members of the clergy, belonging to this state or any other state.

Both parties to the marriage must be in the physical presence of the officiator at the time the ceremony is being performed. 

NOTE TO OFFICIATORS:  The person who performs the marriage ceremony, in the town authorized on the license, must complete the marriage certificate and return it to the Registrar not later than the first week of the month following the marriage.  Please use only black  permanent ink when completing the officiator's portion of the marriage license after the ceremony. Do NOT write in the social security numbers of the couple.  (If you are an ordained minister with an online church affiliation, on the marriage license please indicate your "capacity" as "Minister" and the "type of ceremony" as "Religious.")

Exact Name
Full legal name is required. No abbreviations, nicknames or initials. The information for the marriage license should appear as it does on your birth certificate, unless your name has been legally changed (i.e. previous marriage, court order name change).

Connecticut Residents Marrying in Another State
Not all states have the same requirements. Contact the state in which the marriage ceremony will be held.


Last Updated: Wed, 02/21/2024 - 10:12am